Honorary Fellows 

Six people from the worlds of education, design and politics were honoured by the University at its Awards Ceremonies in July 2011. The new Honorary Fellows for conferment this July were:

Colin Jenkins - international educationalist: Born in Fishguard, Mr Jenkins has a long and prominent career in International Education. His posts have included Deputy Director General of the International Baccalaureate Organisation, Principal of Atlantic College and Head of United World College of South East Asia, Singapore. Mr Jenkins is also a Founding Head of the United World College, Maastricht, Netherlands, and Consultant in the founding of United World College Espana, Santander. He was recently honoured by the King of Sweden as Knight first class of the Royal Swedish Order of the Polar Star.

Dilys Price OBE - Director of the Touch Trust: Mrs Price is a former senior lecturer at UWIC where she worked on the Human Movement Studies Degree courses and was responsible for Dance Studies. She was part of a team which founded and built the Wales Sports Centre for the Disabled (UWIC), and also ran the first Special Olympic activities and Play to Grow Clubs. She was a founder member of the Wales Sports Association for Special Needs and was a consultant for Movement Activities for a variety of special needs. Touch Trust was born 10 years ago when Mrs Price began campaigning for her ‘Happiness Centre’ for people with special needs.

David Worthington - graphic designer: David Worthington is a significant figure in the world of design. A former Managing Director of the Conran Design Group, he is now Chairman of Media Square’s design brands – including Lloyd Northover and Holmes and Marchant. In June 2010, he became chair of the UK Design Alliance. He has shown considerable support to both the Cardiff School of Art & Design and the Cardiff Design Festival.

Rt. Hon. Dr Kim Howells – politician and art critic.
Born in Merthyr Tydfil, Dr Kim Howells was elected Labour MP for Pontypridd in 1989 and became an opposition spokesman on a range of issues, winning a junior education post following Labour’s election victory in 1997. He was appointed as Minister for Tourism, Film and Broadcasting before moving to transport and later the Foreign Office. He has also been the chairman of Parliament’s Security and Intelligence Committee.

Professor Sir Lesek Borysiewicz – Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge: Professor Sir Lesek Borysiewicz was installed as the 345th Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge on October 1 2010. Sir Leszek was previously Chief Executive of the UK’s Medical Research Council, following six years at Imperial College London, as Principal of the Faculty of Medicine and later as Deputy Rector. He was a founding Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 1996 and a member of its Council from 1997 until 2002; and he became a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2008.

Professor Steve Smith – Vice-Chancellor, University of Exeter: Professor Steve Smith has been Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of the University of Exeter since October 2002. He was previously Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) and Professor of International Politics at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, as well as Head of the Department of International Politics, and Director of the Centre for Public Choice Studies at the University of East Anglia. In 2009, Professor Smith took up the Presidency of Universities UK (UUK) – the representative body for the executive heads of UK universities and umbrella group for the University sector - a position he will hold until 2011.

Cardiff Met is also pleased to confirm that Digby Jones, Baron Jones of Birmingham, is to be awarded an Honorary Fellowship in February 2012.