Board of Governors 2011/12 

Cardiff Metropolitan University’s constitution has been drawn up under the Education Reform Act 1988 (as amended) which provides for the appointment of a Board of Governors with responsibility for the educational character and mission of the Institute and oversight of its activities. The Board of Governors has a duty to govern Cardiff Metropolitan University so as to achieve and develop its primary objectives of teaching, learning and research, and related activities. It is the Board’s function to consider and approve Cardiff Metropolitan University’s strategic plan, which sets Cardiff Metropolitan University’s academic aims and objectives, and to oversee the financial, physical and staffing strategies necessary to achieve it.

Cardiff Metropolitan University’s Nominations Committee is always interested to hear from members of the public who have an interest in university governance. Details of the work of the Board of Governors and opportunities for membership may be obtained from the Clerk to the Governors (contact details below).

Independent Governors
Lord Boswell of Aynho (Vice Chairman)
Mr B Davies OBE
Mrs Z V Harcombe
Mr S Mathur
Ms M Maxwell
Revd Canon R Morrison
Mr A N Piper
Dr G N J Port
Baroness Randerson
Miss B Wilding CBE, QPM (Chair)
Mr J F Thomas
Mr P R Williams CBE

Academic Board Nominee

Dr R G Smith

Student Governor
Ms N James

Co-opted Governors

Ms A Hayes
Dr P Easy
Dr M A Waring
Mr E C Thomas

Vice-Chancellor & Principal

Professor A J Chapman

External Co-opted Members of the Audit Committee
Ms M Hassan
Ms J Royall

Clerk to the Board of Governors
Mr Richard Walters
Western Avenue, Cardiff CF5 2YB
Telephone: 029 2041 6072