Board of Governors 2013/2014 

Cardiff Metropolitan University’s constitution has been drawn up under the Education Reform Act 1988 (as amended) which provides for the appointment of a Board of Governors with responsibility for the educational character and mission of the Institute and oversight of its activities. The Board of Governors has a duty to govern Cardiff Metropolitan University so as to achieve and develop its primary objectives of teaching, learning and research, and related activities. It is the Board’s function to consider and approve Cardiff Metropolitan University’s strategic plan, which sets Cardiff Metropolitan University’s  academic aims and objectives, and to oversee the financial, physical and staffing strategies necessary to achieve it.

Cardiff Metropolitan University’s Nominations Committee is always interested to hear from members of the public who have an interest in university governance.  Details of the work of the Board of Governors and opportunities for membership may be obtained from the Clerk to the Governors (contact details below).

Independent Governors 

Miss B Wilding CBE, QPM (Chair)
Former Chief Constable, South Wales Police

Mr P R Williams CBE
(Vice-Chair, Chair of Audit Committee)
Former Chief Executive, QAA

Mr P Davies
Managing Director, Hospital Innovations Ltd

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff
Consultant in Palliative Care, Velindre Hospital, Cardiff 

Ms M Hassan
Solicitor, Eversheds

Ms S Hay
Education and Community Manager, BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Mr F J Holmes
Chartered Accountant, Partner at Gambit Corporate Finance LLP

Mr S A Kidwai OBE
Accountant, Consultant to SNK Associates

Revd Canon R Morrison
Former Church and Society Officer, Church in Wales

Mr J F Thomas
Accountant, former Senior Partner, Deloitte's Welsh Practice

Mr I T Davies
Head of External Affairs, Federation of Small Businesses

Mr A P Clark OBE
Chairman of Cardiff & Co. Former Chief Operating Officer, Legal and General, Cardiff

Mr G Yorston
CEO, Principality Building Society

Academic Board Governor 
Prof Scott Fleming
Director of Research and Graduate Studies 
Student Governors 

Ms R Foster
President, Students' Union

Ms K Bees
Vice-President, Students' Union

Co-opted Governors 

Ms A Hayes
Assistant Registrar, Enrolment and School Liaison

Mr G J Hardacre

Mr S Jones
Head Teacher, Cardiff High School

Dr M A Waring 
Senior Lecturer, Cardiff School of Management 
Vice-Chancellor and Principal 
Professor A J Chapman 
External Co-opted Member of the Audit Committee 

Mr U Hussain
Chief Finance Officer, South Wales Police

Mr A Piper
Former Bank of England Agent in Wales

External Co-opted Member of the Strategic Planning & Performance Committe

Dr G N J Port OBE
Managing Director, J M Consulting Ltd

Mr Richard Walters
Secretary & Clerk to the Governors /
Ysgrifennydd a Chlerc i'r Llywodraethwyr
Western Avenue, Cardiff CF5 2YB
Telephone: 029 2041 6072